Medicaid in Education Alert

New York State Department of Health (DOH), Office of Health Insurance Programs (OHIP) New York State Education Department (NYSED) Preschool/School Supportive Health Services Program (SSHSP) Medicaid in Education

Issue #15-05

- TO: All SSHSP Medicaid Providers
- FROM: NYS DOH OHIP SSHSP & NYSED Medicaid in Education Unit
- DATE: November 12, 2015
- SUBJECT: Determining the Need for a New York State Office of the Medicaid Inspector General Compliance Program Pursuant to Social Services Law Section 363-d

This is in response to a question raised by Preschool/School Supportive Health Services Program (SSHSP) providers regarding how to determine whether they have reached the \$500,000 claiming threshold that would require them to implement a provider compliance program, as outlined in Social Services Law section 363-d and in New York State Medicaid regulations at 18 NYCRR section 521.1. The specific question posed was whether SSHSP providers should combine their interim fee-for-service claim and annual cost settlement (certified public expenditure) amounts to determine whether the \$500,000 threshold has been met. The purpose of this Medicaid Alert is to clarify that SSHSP providers should base the need for a mandatory compliance program on the amount of their interim fee-for-service Medicaid claims for each school year (July 1 through June 30).

In addition, SSHSP providers are encouraged to review materials available on the website of the New York State Office of the Medicaid Inspector General at <u>https://www.omig.ny.gov/compliance</u> for further information regarding compliance program requirements.

If you have any questions or comments regarding this alert, please contact the NYS Department of Health at (518) 473-2160 or at <u>SSHSP@health.ny.gov</u>, your local Regional Information Center representative, or the NYS Education Department, Medicaid Unit at <u>medined@mail.nysed.gov</u>.