

STAC, Special Aids and Medicaid Unit 89 Washington Avenue, Room 514 EB Albany, New York 12234 Phone: (518) 474-7116 • Fax: (518) 402-5047 E-mail: omsstac@mail.nysed.gov Website : http://www.oms.nysed.gov/stac/

April, 2014

TO: Committee on Special Education Chairpersons

FROM: Maureen C. McCarthy

SUBJECT: 2014-15 Reapplications for School-Age Students

The **2014-15 Reapplications** are now available via the STAC online application system. Online users can save considerable time and effort by accessing the reapplication records through our website at http://www.oms.nysed.gov/stac/. Instructions for using the online system are posted there as well http://www.oms.nysed.gov/stac/. Instructions for using the online system are posted there as well http://www.oms.nysed.gov/stac/. Instructions for using the online system are posted there as well http://www.oms.nysed.gov/stac/stac_online_system/online_instructions/home.html. To facilitate your online submission of the reapplications, there are summary reports enclosed with this letter that list providers and the count of students by provider for each type of placement. Reapplications are available for students who had approvals issued by April 1, 2014 for the 2013-14 school year for the following placement types:

- Public Excess Cost Placements (10-Month) Online Reapplications
- Private Excess Cost Placements (10-Month) Section 4402 of Education Law Online Reapplications
- July/August Placements Section 4408 of Education Law Online Reapplications
- Chapters 47, 66 and 721 Placements (OPWDD) in July/August Programs Paper Reapplications
- Chapters 47, 66 and 721 Placements (OPWDD) in September-June Programs Paper Reapplications

REMINDER: DCERTS ARE REQUIRED ON AN <u>ANNUAL</u> BASIS FOR ALL 10-MONTH PRIVATE EXCESS COST STAC APPROVALS AND ALL JULY/AUGUST PRIVATE PROVIDER STAC APPROVALS (including both 10 month and 2 month private provider reapplications).

In order to obtain a timely determination of approval of State reimbursement, the preapproval Certification must have a "Certification Date" stamp not later than six business days of the student's start date in the program. If the school district fails to submit a timely application, State reimbursement will commence on the "Certification Date" as determined by NYSED's STAC Online System. The 2014-15 DCERT screen is available for processing 2014-15 DCERTs. The STAC Unit's recommendation is for districts to add their 2014-15 DCERTs to the STAC Online system immediately following their CSE meetings.

One annual certification covers BOTH 2 and 10 month private placements <u>if</u> the placement type remains the same for both periods. For more information on how to add a DCERT to the STAC Online system please go to <u>http://www.oms.nysed.gov/stac/guide_DCERT.pdf</u>

Please use the information below in completing the reapplication reports.

Section 4402 – Private Excess Cost Placements (10-Month) – [Online]

For online instructions for Private Excess Cost Reapplications please go to: <u>http://www.oms.nysed.gov/stac/stac_online_system/online_instructions/guide_DRPRV.pdf</u>.

Section 4408 – July/August Placements – [Online]

For online instructions for July/August Reapplications please go to: http://www.oms.nysed.gov/stac/stac_online_system/online_instructions/guide_DRSUM.pdf.

Public Excess Cost Placements (10-Month) – [Online]

For online instructions for Public Excess Cost Reapplications please go to: <u>http://www.oms.nysed.gov/stac/stac_online_system/online_instructions/guide_DRPUB.pdf</u>.

Chapters 47, 66 and 721 Placements (OPWDD) – [Printed] – to be completed and returned to the STAC Unit

Reapplications for Chapter placements have been printed and are included if your district had such placements. If a student will be continuing in the same school of placement and program indicated, place a "Y" in the last column that is labeled (7) (for 10 mth chapters) or column (8) (for 2 mth chapters). If the student is expected to be enrolled less than the full session, place a line through the incorrect date/s and write the correct date/s above them. For more information on chapter placements please go to: http://www.oms.nysed.gov/stac/schoolage/schoolage_placement_summary/opwdd/home.html. School districts should make one copy for retention and submit the signed original to the STAC, Special Aids and Medicaid Unit by October 24, 2014.

No reapplications have been issued for students placed in approved out-of-state schools, including Emergency Interim Placements. Additionally, no reapplications have been issued for students who have aged out of a program, students approved as "one year only" or students whose 13/14 service ended before June 1, 2014.

Submission of a 1:1 Aide Request Form is required for part-time or shared education aides (for all placements other than Public Excess Cost). A 1:1 Aide Request Form is also required for all 1:1 nurses, interpreters and maintenance aides.

http://www.oms.nysed.gov/stac/schoolage/1to1_aides/1-1_aide_form.pdf

NEW: We are recommending that all school districts sign up for our new LISTSERVs specifically for New York State School Districts. Instructions for signing up for the STACSCHAGE (School Age) and STACPRE (Preschool) ListServs can be found on our website at <u>http://www.oms.nysed.gov/stac/listserv/</u>

Encs.